DubsNorth

Vermont Based VW & Audi Club
It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:22 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 307 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 21  Next
 Post subject: 82 4door rabbit TD
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:41 pm 

So here is my project. I'm doing it my way. I might be a hack, you might think I'm a hack, whatever...I don't care. I'm just sharing my project...and representing another 4door. This is my project to turn my free car into a nice daily driver. This car is being built on a low budget, and by a Jeep guy who typically makes things to function with no regards to looks. This is my first VW project of this type, ie body work and re-assembly of the whole car.

I've been working on putting an '82 rabbit TD together for quite a few months now, so I figured I'd post up a build page.

This was from the day I picked the car up. It's an '82 with a swapped in turbo diesel from a factory TD rabbit.

Shortly after picking the car up I started in on body work. The car was already a started project and had been torn apart. A good friend of mine started the project, but lost interest (more so not enough time) after ending up with a lot of other cool projects that took priority (a diesel mini, a TDI rabbit, etc). I had an '81 rabbit in the driveway already, and decided to strip parts from that to put this new car together. First was a door swap because my '81 doors were pretty nice, and close to rust free:

Then I did a lot of sanding and used a dremel to clean up all the spot welds around the windshield frame that had any rust pitting. I also did some rust repair under the car near the control arm mount by cutting and removing, and welding in new metal.

Next I removed all the suspension, front and rear. I replaced shocks, struts, control arms, bushings, ball joints, and added some H&R springs.